Skip to content

A Gal’s Gotta Do

June 16, 2011

Slow and steady wins the race.

That’s what I’ve always heard.

It was probably said by someone just like me who takes forever to get much of anything done, and it was probably said just so they’d feel better when everyone else around them was DIYing at record speed.

But a few items got crossed off the porch list today.

Rim joists are now painted.

Found this can in my stockpile. Don’t know where it came from. Don’t remember what I used it on. It was white, and it was oil based, and it was already paid for. White + oil-based + free = perfect paint for porch.

Once again I took the lazy woman’s way out and used a cheap brush (found a set of three for three bucks at Wal-Mart today) so I didn’t have to deal with the nasty clean-up that goes with oil-based products. Normally I’m not a big fan of cheap brushes…I believe in buying good tools and taking care of them…but sometimes you just need cheap and easy.

There’s more painting to be done so my two other cheap brushes already have bounties on their heads, and in a perfect world I’d have painted all the stuff that needs painting in one swoop with one brush. But my posts are no where ready to be painted and the rim joists had to be finished today.

Why today?

I’m so glad you asked!

The brick mason is coming tomorrow, and I couldn’t risk breaking out my mad painting skills around our brand-spanking-new brick steps.

No that’s not some weird fungus growing on my liriope. That’s paint. This plant is at least two feet from the porch. See what I mean about mad painting skills?

Also got my make-any-plumber-proud cracks filled tonight.

I was not thrilled that this was the only wood filler I could find at Wal-Mart. I used their regular wood filler (not the stainable type) on another project and hated it so much I tossed it in the trash when the project was complete. I hated it so much that thought I should run over to Lowe’s to pick up a different brand, but then I looked at Lulu realized she’d had her fill of shopping and I’d had my fill of whining. So I bought the Elmer’s.

Let me just say…I loved this stuff.

It spread like peanut butter…nice and smooth and even. Nothing at all like the last batch I had.

I’d show you a picture of my now-filled-cracks, but I filled them in the dark and there wasn’t enough light to get a good shot.

If there wasn’t enough light to get a photo, how was there enough light for you to see to fill the cracks?

I’m so glad you asked!

I held the tub of wood filler in one hand, the putty knife in the other, and held a flashlight with my teeth.

This is a family show so I will never ever ever post a pic of me pulling that trick.

It just ain’t fittin’.

But sometimes a gal’s gotta do what a gal’s gotta do.

At this rate this porch will be done by Christmas before I know it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

