Skip to content

Bupkiss

June 15, 2011

A while back I bragged posted about my new laundry center table.

I have a confession to make.

Recall the load of laundry that was piled on top of that table?

That load is perhaps the only load of laundry that got folded on top of that table.

Since I folded and put away that clean, fresh load of laundry, the top of my laundry center has grown a pile of  tools, paint, stain and paint brushes… amongst other things.

All those things are very important things I’ll need when I get around to finishing the laundry room face-lift…sometime around the turn of the century.

(Warning…whining ahead) I started this face-lift way back in February, and I was sure I was going to knock it out in just a few weeks. Now here I am mid-June, and what have I gotten done? Bupkiss…that’s what. (Please don’t ask me what bupkiss is because I’m not for certain, and don’t ask me if I’ve spelled it correctly because I’m not for sure, but I think it means what I meant it to mean…nada, nothing, zilch, zero). I’m an avid follower of several other DIY blogs, and it seems like those people are churning out new projects every sixty seconds or so, and I wonder what’s wrong with me. Why am I not making more progress? Why are my grand plans not producing grand results?

I don’t have the answer to that question.

I’m sure all those other people are juggling kids and jobs and community involvements. I’m sure they’re cooking meals and scrubbing bathrooms and folding laundry. I’m sure they’re sleeping at night and cutting the grass and doing all those other things that keep me from my Want-To-Do List.

But since I seem unable to increase my productivity, I’ve decided I’m simply going to have to celebrate whatever small steps I make.

And while I haven’t made any small steps in my laundry room, I have made some small steps on some other projects.

One of those projects was to figure out a way to share my plans for that laundry center with all those who have asked for it.

I promised I would.

And I haven’t been keeping it a secret like some family recipe that I don’t want to share.

It’s not that I haven’t tried to draw up some share-worthy plans.

I have.

But the learning curve for SketchUp has proved to be more than I was able to navigate. I’ve had more than one screaming hissy fit while sitting at my computer.

But then I found a link somewhere (I wish I could remember where because I’d send the linkster a five pound box of Godiva chocolates for saving my sanity) for some awesome SketchUp tutorials.

Armed with this new knowledge, I’ve actually managed to begin those plans I’ve wanted to share for so long.

So below is Step 1 of the Laundry Center Plans.

The entire plan isn’t complete yet, but it will be.

Now that feels like a small step worth celebrating.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

