Skip to content

For Erin…Modified Doll Bed Plans

April 7, 2011

A very kind comment from a reader reminded me today that my memory is not quite what it used to be.

In my post about the doll beds I made from leftover scraps, I promised I’d post the changes I made to Ana White’s amazing Farmhouse Doll bed.

I then promptly forgot about it.

I don’t mind being past forty. As Paula Deen once said…any day you wake up on the right side of the daisies is a good day.

I don’t mind that my face is heading south (as are my boobs and my behind)…well not much anyway.

I do mind that my mind is not the steel trap it once was.

My mother once told me that insanity is hereditary…you get it from your kids. I don’t know that I agree with that statement. All the women in my family are crazy…and not all of us are moms.

I do agree with a friend who said that at the moment her first baby exited her body, her hipness and coolness followed right behind.

I know what she means.

I find myself changing the radio station because the lyrics of many popular songs shock me. I yell at my kids for not wearing helmets when they ride their bikes and skateboards and scooters, and yet I’ve done much more dangerous and riskier stuff. Can you say bungee jumping?

And I’m discovering that not only did my children suck the cool and hip person I once was right out of my body, they are slowly and gradually sucking out my brain cells.

So to the very kind and complimentary Erin…I ask for your forgiveness. Please know that I didn’t intentionally ignore a promise I made. However, I’m sure you understand…you’ve got three of your own.

So without further ado…

MODIFIED FARMHOUSE DOLL BED

Shopping List (for one bed)

  • 2×2 (3 feet total)
  • 1×3 (10 feet total)
  • 1×2 (8 feet total)
  • 1/4″ plywood (a half sheet will provide enough for three beds)

Cut List (for one bed)

  • 4 – 1×3 @ 6″ (for headboard)
  • 4 – 1×3 @ 3″ (for footboard)
  • 2 – 2×2 @ 11″ (for headboard legs)
  • 2 – 2×2 @ 4 1/4″ (for footboard legs)
  • 2 – 1×2 @ 10″ (bottom of panels)
  • 2 – 1×2 @ 13″ (top of panels)
  • 2 – 1×3 @ 14″ (top of headboard and footboard)
  • 2 – 1×3 @ 19″ (side rails)
  • 3 – 1×2 @ 11″ (bed frame)
  • 1 – 1/4″ plywood @ 14″x19″ (for mattress support)

Use Ana’s plans for assembly and then finish as you wish.

The biggest obstacle I faced was filling the holes with wood filler and then getting the filler sanded smooth. But this has always been an obstacle for me because I’m just not crazy about sanding. And I usually try to sand too soon…I’m more than a bit impatient.

Good luck to you. I know your girls will love these beds. Lulu adores hers…there’s always somebody sleeping in it.  And the pleasure I got from making something with my own two hands…worth every splinter.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

