Skip to content

Christmas In March

March 19, 2011

I’ve heard the phrase Christmas in July, but I’ve never heard of Christmas in March.

And yet Christmas came to our house extremely early this year.

We got an odd call from my sister-in-law on Wednesday evening, asking if we were home. She said she had something for us.

She didn’t say what.

Needless to say we were quite puzzled.

A little while later she and her hubby and her son showed up like Three Wise People bearing gifts.

To say that we were overwhelmed and speechless doesn’t do the moment justice.

When we were all together at Christmas they’d heard Brad and I talking about how our old CRT television was dying. It would turn off all by itself. There were lines across the top of the screen so we knew the tube was going.

So when they found a good deal on this tv, they not only bought one for themselves, they also bought one for us.

Even now their generosity makes me want to cry.

The only problem with our new brand new tv is that it doesn’t fit into our old entertainment unit.

Excuse the mess. I’m no domestic diva, but looking at this right now is making me a bit crazy. The girls (Lulu and her friend who slept over last night) have done some damage in the living room this morning, and I’m about to vacuum so they’ll be cleaning up behind themselves in about ten minutes.

It’s awesome to have the new tv. It’s not awesome to get a neck cramp while trying to watch it.

Which is why I really really need the apothecary console I’ve been lusting over for months.

Some friends joined us for dinner last night, and they mentioned that they had purchased the media unit for their flat screen at a nationwide discount store for about 100 bucks.

Thanks to Ana White, who drew up the plan for the apothecary console I desire, I know I can build a console for 100 bucks. One that suits our needs perfectly. One that isn’t made from laminated pressboard. One that won’t have to be replaced in three years because it’s gotten wobbly or warped. One that every time I look at it I can feel a sense of accomplishment.

Now I just need to win the lottery so I can buy all the lumber I need to build all the projects I need.

Too bad I don’t play the lottery.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

