Skip to content

What Was I Thinking?

March 5, 2011

In my world, what I envision to be a “quick and simple” project often turns out to be anything but “quick and simple”.

In fact, it often turns out to be “long, drawn-out, and hair-pulling”.

Take my laundry center as an example.

Never in a million years would I have thought it would take me three weeks to get it put together, finished, and installed in my awkward and overly-cluttered laundry room.

But, due to many factors outside of my control, that’s the amount of time it took.

And when I was done, I looked at the pile of scraps I had left, and I thought…I can make something else out of this!

What was I thinking?

I was thinking that Lulu really needed a bed for the big doll she got for Christmas…the doll with the gorgeous face and the horrible hair…the doll that is not an American Girl doll because American Girl dolls are so out of the stratosphere of our budget.

Once again…Ana White came to my rescue with her plans for a pint-sized farmhouse bed.

Okay…so maybe her plans aren’t quite “pint sized”. Build as directed and you’ll create a gorgeous bed big enough for two 18″ dolls. I only wanted a bed for one doll.

So with a few modifications and about four days of assembly, sanding, painting, and sewing, I was able to present Lulu with the dream doll bed…

I have to tell you…even The Hubster was impressed.

One of the elder members of our church came by the house this week, and The Hubster proudly showed him my handiwork.

Do you have any idea how fabulous that made me feel?

I may not be able to make a biscuit, but I can build a bed.

And I can sew the linens for it (and there were a bunch of them!).

During the coming week I’ll be sharing the minor modifications I made to Ana’s plans to convert it to a narrower version, and I’ll show you how to make all of the linens.  Yes, all of the linens: the tufted mattress, the fitted sheet, the flat sheet, the quilt, the pillows and the pillow cases, and even the decorative sham.

You do not have to be an expert seamstress to make these. Heck, I can’t sew a straight line unless I draw one on the fabric I’m going to stitch, so if I can do this well enough to impress The Hubster and provide Lulu with hours of dolly enjoyment, so can you.

Tune in next week…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin permalink
    March 24, 2011 8:57 am

    I can’t wait for the plans! I have 3 little girls to make beds for and don’t have room for 3 big doll beds. I can’t really get ANY of them to understand that they could SHARE a bed! 🙂 Thanks for doing the hard part for us!

    • Lea permalink
      April 7, 2011 10:13 am

      Erin, thanks so much for the kind comment. I’m glad you like the plan, and I know your girls will love their beds.

Trackbacks

  1. For Erin…Modified Doll Bed Plans «

Leave a Reply

