Skip to content

Ooh Baby…Where’ve You Been All My Life

February 3, 2011

Do you believe in love at first sight?

I don’t.

Well…I didn’t.

Until…

Until I saw her

(And if you’re wondering why I used a feminine pronoun…I can only say that anything that spends this much time in the laundry room but still possesses such style, grace, charm and strength…well, it simply has to be of the female persuasion.)

Unfortunately for me…this beauty is already taken.

This beauty belongs to the über-talented Christa over at StoriesofaHouse. Christa’s equally über-fied hubby constructed this piece, and I’m not ashamed to admit that this photo gave me a serious case of the envies.

A. Serious. Case.

So serious that I had to inquire if she had a sister.

She does, but she’s taken as well. (Check out the source of Christa’s inspiration for her pedestal over at Sausha’s {show & tell}.)

The only remedy for my envies was to rush out to my local home improvement store to spend the gift card that had been burning a hole in my wallet since Christmas (thanks, Mom & Dad!).

And here, without further ado, is my own version of Christa’s laundry room beauty.

Let’s just say it’s a work in progress.

(Observe the difference between Christa’s awesome photo and my less-than-stellar one.  I’m adding “Learn to take better photographs” to this year’s 2011 Goal List and starting a fund to save for a “good” camera effectively immediately.)

According to Christa’s blog, her hubby spent about three hours cutting and assembling her pedestal. I figure I can quadruple that due my lack of any significant wood working experience and the modifications I’m making to her plan.

I’d like to get started immediately, but I’ve got a meeting at church tonight that’s destined to drag on and on and on (as all committee meetings tend to do).

However, tomorrow I’ve got a hot date with a miter saw.

Until then…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

